se7en Blissful Blessings

Are you having a shitty week? Counter the flow of negativity by making a list of your blessings. Mine goes like this:

1. My home is in a flood-free area.

Tropical Storm Maring has brought non-stop rain in the Metropolis for the past four days. I’m grateful that my news feed is the only thing flooded with reports and photos about the storm.

2. I don’t live alone.

When I was younger, I couldn’t wait to move out and live independently. I recently realized how sad and lonely living alone can get. Imagine the scene in “The Wedding Planner” where J-Lo was going home to an empty apartment and eating microwavable food alone. I never want to go back to that.

3. I still have a considerable amount of pocket money a few days before payday.

Blame it to reckless days of youth when just two days after payday, you’re asking yourself “Where did my money go?” I don’t think I’m alone in this. Am I? Well, I’ve long bid my goodbyes to “puresa” weeks when you’re only counting the days before the next payday because the only money you have left is enough for fare to last the week. Been there, done that. No more, thank you.

4. Corruption is a foreign concept to my being.

In the midst of the Napoles scandal, I couldn’t help but ponder how Janet’s kids fathom living a luxurious lifestyle with the knowledge that they are using taxpayer’s money. The answer, they grew up with a corrupt mentality. It’s sad that their extreme greed has buried their conscience alive. I’m grateful that my parents raised me well and with their hard-earned money.

5. I’m privileged to have a roof over my head, clean water to drink, electricity to use, food to eat and unlimited Internet access.

I plead guilty. There are days when I’m just too preoccupied in my little world that I forget how blessed I am.  Back in the day, my mom would scold me for not finishing my food and say “at least you have food to eat, unlike other kids in Africa.” My sarcasm would strike and say “would they be fed if I finish my food?” Decades later, I now know that my mom simply meant I should be grateful for what I have.

6. I have a loving family.

Don’t get me wrong, every family has their own MMK story and mine is not exempted from the drama. What I am saying is, I may grow old, and totally capable of taking care of myself, but I know they will always have my back.  The “7th Heaven” opening song sums it up “Where can you go, when the world don’t treat you right? The answer is home. That’s the one place that you’ll find, 7th heaven.”

7. God loves me no matter how unworthy I am of His love.

2013 is truly a year of faith for me. With my renewed faith, it feels awesome to  bask in the goodness and unconditional love of God. It is truly a blessing that God gave me the grace of clarity and understanding. It is a daily decision to actively love Him and I am grateful that He still loves me even though I sin against Him at times.

###

Purplebliss says: What’s your seven blissful blessings (7BBs)?

About thepurplebliss

I'm in a mission to master the art of blissful living!

Posted on August 21, 2013, in por le amor de la vida and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

