How to See the Good in the Bad

 

Capture

 

 

 

 

I fell down a flight of stairs and hurt my back the other day. I still suffer from the back pain and it’s quite annoying how much of my thought process resolves around how painful my back is. I can easily wrap myself in a self-pity bun and point out how unlucky I am, how problematic my life is, and how much the universe conspires to torture me. However, this back pain made me realize quite the opposite.

One. I have functional limbs.

Just imagine how your life would be like without an arm, without a leg or two, without your eyesight, without your voice, without any of the body parts that you take for granted just because you’re used to having them. Then acknowledge the strength and courage of the people who don’t have the luxury to have a complete and well-functioning set of body parts but still thrive for today and every other day of their lives.

Two. I’m surrounded by people who care.

After I accompanied my dad for a check –up, he accompanied me to the pharmacy for pain-killers. He has his own problems to think of but he still cares about my problems. My friends were also sympathetic about my misfortune and in their simple ways, alleviated my suffering. God is so good for blessing me with these people.

Three. It is not the end of the world.

No matter how bad my day is, no matter how unlucky I may seem, no matter how painful my circumstance may be, the world will not end if I still have hope in me.  “Hope is the only thing more powerful than fear” as President Snow in Hunger Games said. I’m simply letting the Katniss in me shine.

Bottom line. When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. All the bad things in your life may be real but so is all the good. You just have to choose to linger on the bright side. Sometimes, you need to feel a little suffering to know how blessed you are.

Purple bliss says: Be happy! It’s a Friday!

 

About thepurplebliss

I'm in a mission to master the art of blissful living!

Posted on April 25, 2014, in por le amor de la vida and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

